Billing and Payments

The cost of a Desmos Professional subscription is based on the number of active seats in a workspace. After creating a team, owners can manage their team’s subscription, including billing and payments, through their dashboard. Whether you’re just getting started or already have a team, here are some extra resources:

 

Desmos Professional is a paid plan. Educators can request a free team to use with colleagues. To learn more and sign up, visit our Desmos Professional page.

 

How Billing Works

When you first sign up for a Professional team, you begin a 30-day free trial. You can add a payment method at any point during your free trial, but your billing cycle will not begin until the trial ends.

Any teammate that accepts an invite during the trial will count toward your active seats. Your first billing cycle includes all active seats at the time of payment. The first payment sets your billing cycle anchor date, and your subscription automatically renews on that same date each month. If your anchor date falls late in the month, your subscription will renew on the last day of the month closest to that date if the given month is shorter.

If you do not subscribe during your free trial, you will have a short grace period to access your graphs. Afterwards, your team, workspace, and files will be deleted. Your personal workspace will not be affected.

Seats

The monthly cost per seat is $8. A teammate's role does not affect the cost of their seat. Team owners can invite and remove teammates at any time during the billing cycle.

Once a teammate accepts an invite, they're considered an active seat. A one-time prorated amount (based on the first partial month of that teammate’s activity) is added to your next invoice. From the next cycle onward, that seat bills at the full recurring rate, just like any other active seat.

When you remove a teammate, they will lose access to the workspace immediately. Their seat will not appear on the next invoice.

 

Examples

Adding a Seat

Priya creates a team and invites a teammate, Casey on July 10. Priya becomes the first seat and is charged $8, the first payment, the day she creates the team. Five days later, Casey accepts the invite on July 15.

The next invoice will include a combination of one-time and recurring charges, totaling $22.71.

One-time charges:

  • A charge of $6.71, the prorated cost for how long Casey’s seat has been active during the current billing cycle (26 days).

Recurring charges:

  • A charge of $8, which is next month’s usage for Priya’s seat.
  • A charge of $8, which is next month’s usage for Casey’s seat.

Screenshot of Billing Details showing one-time and recurring charges, an estimated payment of $22.71, a “Manage Subscription” button, and teammate counts.

Removing a Seat

Sam’s team has three active seats. During the billing cycle, Sam removes Jordan’s seat.

Jordan loses access to the workspace immediately. The following cycle’s invoice will include a charge of $16, which is the next month’s usage for the two remaining seats. Jordan’s seat will no longer appear.

Screenshot of Billing Details showing recurring charges for two teammates with an estimated payment of $16, a “Manage Subscription” button, and teammate counts.

 

Add a Payment Method

You can add a payment method before or after your trial ends. To add a payment method, go to your team dashboard and click Add Payment Method.

Then, click Add Payment Method through Stripe. Enter your payment details and click Add.

Screenshot of team dashboard highlighting the Billing Details side panel.

 

Manage Your Subscription

Once you’ve added a payment method, you can find your active plan, next billing date, and next estimated payment from the dashboard.

Team owners can also click Manage Subscription to view and update billing details, access invoices, change payment methods, and cancel your subscription through Stripe.

Screenshot of team dashboard highlighting the Billing Details side panel.

 

Cancel Your Subscription

To cancel your subscription, click Manage Subscription and then Cancel Subscription. Click Cancel Subscription again to confirm your cancellation.

If you cancel your subscription, you and your teammates will keep access to the team workspace until the end of the current billing period. After that, the workspace will become inaccessible. Team Only links will stop working, though any file with a public link will still open. Your personal workspace and its contents won’t be affected. Learn more about link access in our Share Files in Your Team Workspace article.

If you'd like to restore your workspace and its contents, reach out to support@desmos.com, and we can help you reactivate.

Screenshot of current subscription details highlighting a “Cancel Subscription” button.

 

Learn More

Please reach out to support@desmos.com with any questions or feedback.